Tides | Ebb and flood

The beaches of Terschelling are never the same width because of the tides. For example, if you take a relaxing walk on the beach, it is useful to know when it is high or low tide.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for West-Terschelling for the two following months.

January 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 25 January
3:45 hrs
 
-108 cm
 
9:45 hrs
82 cm
 
 
15:56 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
22:04 hrs
107 cm
 
Sunday 26 January
4:22 hrs
 
-107 cm
 
10:25 hrs
77 cm
 
 
16:32 hrs
 
-104 cm
 
22:35 hrs
108 cm
 
Monday 27 January
5:01 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
10:55 hrs
73 cm
 
 
17:06 hrs
 
-105 cm
 
23:14 hrs
108 cm
 
Tuesday 28 January
5:36 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
11:28 hrs
70 cm
 
 
17:35 hrs
 
-107 cm
 
23:46 hrs
106 cm
 
Wednesday 29 January
6:05 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
11:55 hrs
69 cm
 
 
18:06 hrs
 
-107 cm
Thursday 30 January
0:20 hrs
102 cm
 
 
6:35 hrs
 
-93 cm
 
12:32 hrs
66 cm
 
 
18:38 hrs
 
-105 cm
Friday 31 January
0:45 hrs
95 cm
 
 
7:05 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
13:00 hrs
63 cm
 
 
19:06 hrs
 
-101 cm

February 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 1 February
1:15 hrs
89 cm
 
 
7:30 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
13:29 hrs
61 cm
 
 
19:45 hrs
 
-97 cm
Sunday 2 February
1:45 hrs
83 cm
 
 
8:10 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
14:09 hrs
59 cm
 
 
20:25 hrs
 
-91 cm
Monday 3 February
2:39 hrs
77 cm
 
 
8:56 hrs
 
-78 cm
 
14:47 hrs
57 cm
 
 
21:16 hrs
 
-83 cm
Tuesday 4 February
3:38 hrs
71 cm
 
 
9:55 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
16:18 hrs
56 cm
 
 
22:20 hrs
 
-76 cm
Wednesday 5 February
5:09 hrs
69 cm
 
 
11:15 hrs
 
-73 cm
 
17:53 hrs
63 cm
 
Thursday 6 February
0:00 hrs
 
-79 cm
 
6:31 hrs
75 cm
 
 
12:44 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
19:06 hrs
77 cm
 
Friday 7 February
1:15 hrs
 
-90 cm
 
7:30 hrs
83 cm
 
 
13:46 hrs
 
-93 cm
 
20:04 hrs
90 cm
 
Saturday 8 February
2:25 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
8:33 hrs
87 cm
 
 
14:45 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
20:54 hrs
100 cm
 
Sunday 9 February
3:21 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
9:24 hrs
88 cm
 
 
15:36 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
21:46 hrs
106 cm
 
Monday 10 February
4:11 hrs
 
-121 cm
 
10:16 hrs
86 cm
 
 
16:22 hrs
 
-116 cm
 
22:35 hrs
111 cm
 
Tuesday 11 February
4:55 hrs
 
-128 cm
 
10:55 hrs
84 cm
 
 
17:09 hrs
 
-122 cm
 
23:15 hrs
115 cm
 
Wednesday 12 February
5:41 hrs
 
-130 cm
 
11:46 hrs
81 cm
 
 
17:52 hrs
 
-127 cm
Thursday 13 February
0:00 hrs
116 cm
 
 
6:22 hrs
 
-129 cm
 
12:25 hrs
78 cm
 
 
18:36 hrs
 
-128 cm
Friday 14 February
0:40 hrs
113 cm
 
 
7:03 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
13:05 hrs
74 cm
 
 
19:15 hrs
 
-125 cm
Saturday 15 February
1:25 hrs
105 cm
 
 
7:46 hrs
 
-112 cm
 
13:45 hrs
69 cm
 
 
19:58 hrs
 
-117 cm
Sunday 16 February
2:16 hrs
94 cm
 
 
8:30 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
14:35 hrs
64 cm
 
 
20:48 hrs
 
-105 cm
Monday 17 February
3:08 hrs
81 cm
 
 
9:20 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
15:35 hrs
60 cm
 
 
21:46 hrs
 
-92 cm
Tuesday 18 February
4:15 hrs
70 cm
 
 
10:25 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
16:39 hrs
59 cm
 
 
23:06 hrs
 
-86 cm
Wednesday 19 February
5:31 hrs
65 cm
 
 
11:45 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
18:16 hrs
67 cm
 
Thursday 20 February
0:24 hrs
 
-90 cm
 
6:45 hrs
68 cm
 
 
13:06 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
19:15 hrs
82 cm
 
Friday 21 February
1:45 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
7:55 hrs
74 cm
 
 
14:06 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
20:20 hrs
95 cm
 
Saturday 22 February
2:41 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
8:50 hrs
77 cm
 
 
14:52 hrs
 
-107 cm
 
21:05 hrs
101 cm
 
Sunday 23 February
3:27 hrs
 
-115 cm
 
9:36 hrs
75 cm
 
 
15:36 hrs
 
-110 cm
 
21:46 hrs
103 cm
 
Monday 24 February
4:06 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
10:11 hrs
72 cm
 
 
16:10 hrs
 
-112 cm
 
22:21 hrs
103 cm
 
Tuesday 25 February
4:41 hrs
 
-110 cm
 
10:40 hrs
70 cm
 
 
16:42 hrs
 
-115 cm
 
22:44 hrs
102 cm
 
Wednesday 26 February
5:11 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
11:00 hrs
72 cm
 
 
17:16 hrs
 
-118 cm
 
23:15 hrs
101 cm
 
Thursday 27 February
5:36 hrs
 
-108 cm
 
11:30 hrs
73 cm
 
 
17:46 hrs
 
-119 cm
 
23:45 hrs
97 cm
 
Friday 28 February
6:06 hrs
 
-106 cm
 
12:06 hrs
71 cm
 
 
18:16 hrs
 
-117 cm
Saturday 29 February
0:15 hrs
91 cm
 
 
6:31 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
12:25 hrs
69 cm
 
 
18:45 hrs
 
-114 cm

March 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Sunday 1 March
0:45 hrs
84 cm
 
 
7:01 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
12:55 hrs
67 cm
 
 
19:11 hrs
 
-111 cm
Monday 2 March
1:15 hrs
79 cm
 
 
7:31 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
13:28 hrs
65 cm
 
 
19:55 hrs
 
-105 cm
Tuesday 3 March
1:52 hrs
72 cm
 
 
8:15 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
14:09 hrs
62 cm
 
 
20:34 hrs
 
-96 cm
Wednesday 4 March
2:49 hrs
63 cm
 
 
9:13 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
15:15 hrs
58 cm
 
 
21:40 hrs
 
-86 cm
Thursday 5 March
4:10 hrs
56 cm
 
 
10:25 hrs
 
-74 cm
 
17:01 hrs
59 cm
 
 
23:25 hrs
 
-84 cm
Friday 6 March
5:55 hrs
60 cm
 
 
12:10 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
18:36 hrs
72 cm
 
Saturday 7 March
0:54 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
7:05 hrs
70 cm
 
 
13:26 hrs
 
-93 cm
 
19:35 hrs
87 cm
 
Sunday 8 March
2:05 hrs
 
-112 cm
 
8:10 hrs
78 cm
 
 
14:25 hrs
 
-106 cm
 
20:31 hrs
99 cm
 
Monday 9 March
3:01 hrs
 
-125 cm
 
9:06 hrs
81 cm
 
 
15:16 hrs
 
-118 cm
 
21:20 hrs
106 cm
 
Tuesday 10 March
3:49 hrs
 
-134 cm
 
9:56 hrs
82 cm
 
 
16:06 hrs
 
-128 cm
 
22:15 hrs
110 cm
 
Wednesday 11 March
4:36 hrs
 
-140 cm
 
10:44 hrs
82 cm
 
 
16:51 hrs
 
-135 cm
 
22:56 hrs
112 cm
 
Thursday 12 March
5:18 hrs
 
-140 cm
 
11:26 hrs
82 cm
 
 
17:33 hrs
 
-141 cm
 
23:40 hrs
111 cm
 
Friday 13 March
6:02 hrs
 
-137 cm
 
12:05 hrs
80 cm
 
 
18:16 hrs
 
-141 cm
Saturday 14 March
0:26 hrs
105 cm
 
 
6:42 hrs
 
-129 cm
 
12:46 hrs
78 cm
 
 
18:55 hrs
 
-136 cm
Sunday 15 March
1:15 hrs
94 cm
 
 
7:21 hrs
 
-116 cm
 
13:20 hrs
74 cm
 
 
19:35 hrs
 
-125 cm
Monday 16 March
1:51 hrs
81 cm
 
 
8:00 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
14:00 hrs
68 cm
 
 
20:20 hrs
 
-111 cm
Tuesday 17 March
2:35 hrs
66 cm
 
 
8:46 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
14:55 hrs
63 cm
 
 
21:15 hrs
 
-95 cm
Wednesday 18 March
3:25 hrs
52 cm
 
 
9:45 hrs
 
-75 cm
 
15:58 hrs
60 cm
 
 
22:46 hrs
 
-86 cm
Thursday 19 March
5:08 hrs
46 cm
 
 
11:15 hrs
 
-74 cm
 
17:45 hrs
65 cm
 
Friday 20 March
0:16 hrs
 
-92 cm
 
6:35 hrs
53 cm
 
 
12:40 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
18:55 hrs
79 cm
 
Saturday 21 March
1:30 hrs
 
-107 cm
 
7:35 hrs
63 cm
 
 
13:45 hrs
 
-101 cm
 
19:49 hrs
92 cm
 
Sunday 22 March
2:15 hrs
 
-117 cm
 
8:24 hrs
69 cm
 
 
14:31 hrs
 
-111 cm
 
20:46 hrs
97 cm
 
Monday 23 March
3:00 hrs
 
-120 cm
 
9:16 hrs
70 cm
 
 
15:11 hrs
 
-115 cm
 
21:20 hrs
97 cm
 
Tuesday 24 March
3:38 hrs
 
-118 cm
 
9:38 hrs
69 cm
 
 
15:45 hrs
 
-117 cm
 
21:56 hrs
96 cm
 
Wednesday 25 March
4:10 hrs
 
-116 cm
 
10:16 hrs
71 cm
 
 
16:21 hrs
 
-120 cm
 
22:25 hrs
95 cm
 
Thursday 26 March
4:45 hrs
 
-116 cm
 
10:35 hrs
74 cm
 
 
16:51 hrs
 
-124 cm
 
22:56 hrs
94 cm
 
Friday 27 March
5:10 hrs
 
-117 cm
 
11:11 hrs
76 cm
 
 
17:20 hrs
 
-125 cm
 
23:26 hrs
90 cm
 
Saturday 28 March
5:36 hrs
 
-115 cm
 
11:35 hrs
75 cm
 
 
17:51 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
23:50 hrs
84 cm
 
Tides

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide (HW) is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide (LW) in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Disclaimer

faqThis tidal information is only intended for recreational purposes, such as hiking and beach recreation. No guarantees are made about the correctness of this free tides data. You may not use this page if anyone or anything could come to harm as a result of using it (e.g. for navigational purposes).

Ebb and flow

Getijden

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Oosterschelde or Waddenzee, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go mudhiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.