Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches of Terschelling are never the same width because of the tides. For example, if you take a relaxing walk on the beach, it is useful to know when it is high or low tide.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for West-terschelling for the two following months.

November 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Friday 15 November
4:51 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
10:54 hrs
101 cm
 
 
17:06 hrs
 
-93 cm
 
23:05 hrs
100 cm
 
Saturday 16 November
5:26 hrs
 
-95 cm
 
11:28 hrs
93 cm
 
 
17:41 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
23:46 hrs
99 cm
 
Sunday 17 November
6:05 hrs
 
-92 cm
 
12:00 hrs
86 cm
 
 
18:16 hrs
 
-84 cm
Monday 18 November
0:22 hrs
98 cm
 
 
6:45 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
12:45 hrs
77 cm
 
 
18:56 hrs
 
-79 cm
Tuesday 19 November
1:05 hrs
97 cm
 
 
7:35 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
13:41 hrs
69 cm
 
 
19:46 hrs
 
-72 cm
Wednesday 20 November
2:05 hrs
95 cm
 
 
8:31 hrs
 
-78 cm
 
14:45 hrs
63 cm
 
 
20:45 hrs
 
-66 cm
Thursday 21 November
3:10 hrs
95 cm
 
 
9:46 hrs
 
-76 cm
 
15:59 hrs
62 cm
 
 
22:04 hrs
 
-65 cm
Friday 22 November
4:35 hrs
98 cm
 
 
11:00 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
17:25 hrs
68 cm
 
 
23:26 hrs
 
-71 cm
Saturday 23 November
5:44 hrs
106 cm
 
 
12:05 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
18:25 hrs
77 cm
 
Sunday 24 November
0:36 hrs
 
-81 cm
 
6:50 hrs
112 cm
 
 
13:16 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
19:25 hrs
85 cm
 
Monday 25 November
1:39 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
7:46 hrs
114 cm
 
 
14:15 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
20:25 hrs
91 cm
 
Tuesday 26 November
2:36 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
8:40 hrs
113 cm
 
 
15:03 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
21:10 hrs
97 cm
 
Wednesday 27 November
3:26 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
9:36 hrs
109 cm
 
 
15:51 hrs
 
-101 cm
 
22:00 hrs
102 cm
 
Thursday 28 November
4:12 hrs
 
-106 cm
 
10:15 hrs
104 cm
 
 
16:31 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
22:35 hrs
106 cm
 
Friday 29 November
4:56 hrs
 
-104 cm
 
10:58 hrs
96 cm
 
 
17:06 hrs
 
-95 cm
 
23:15 hrs
108 cm
 
Saturday 30 November
5:35 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
11:25 hrs
87 cm
 
 
17:46 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
23:45 hrs
108 cm
 

December 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Sunday 1 December
6:10 hrs
 
-93 cm
 
12:15 hrs
77 cm
 
 
18:16 hrs
 
-86 cm
Monday 2 December
0:31 hrs
104 cm
 
 
6:46 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
12:48 hrs
67 cm
 
 
18:46 hrs
 
-80 cm
Tuesday 3 December
1:05 hrs
99 cm
 
 
7:26 hrs
 
-72 cm
 
13:25 hrs
59 cm
 
 
19:26 hrs
 
-73 cm
Wednesday 4 December
1:50 hrs
93 cm
 
 
8:05 hrs
 
-63 cm
 
14:10 hrs
53 cm
 
 
19:59 hrs
 
-65 cm
Thursday 5 December
2:35 hrs
87 cm
 
 
8:55 hrs
 
-56 cm
 
15:10 hrs
50 cm
 
 
20:55 hrs
 
-58 cm
Friday 6 December
3:45 hrs
84 cm
 
 
10:09 hrs
 
-54 cm
 
16:18 hrs
51 cm
 
 
22:08 hrs
 
-54 cm
Saturday 7 December
4:49 hrs
85 cm
 
 
11:25 hrs
 
-61 cm
 
17:30 hrs
59 cm
 
 
23:41 hrs
 
-60 cm
Sunday 8 December
5:59 hrs
90 cm
 
 
12:22 hrs
 
-72 cm
 
18:40 hrs
70 cm
 
Monday 9 December
0:44 hrs
 
-70 cm
 
6:55 hrs
97 cm
 
 
13:11 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
19:30 hrs
82 cm
 
Tuesday 10 December
1:30 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
7:45 hrs
102 cm
 
 
14:00 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
20:08 hrs
91 cm
 
Wednesday 11 December
2:20 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
8:25 hrs
105 cm
 
 
14:46 hrs
 
-96 cm
 
20:55 hrs
98 cm
 
Thursday 12 December
3:09 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
9:16 hrs
105 cm
 
 
15:31 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
21:45 hrs
102 cm
 
Friday 13 December
3:52 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
9:56 hrs
102 cm
 
 
16:11 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
22:25 hrs
104 cm
 
Saturday 14 December
4:36 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
10:36 hrs
97 cm
 
 
16:51 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
22:55 hrs
105 cm
 
Sunday 15 December
5:15 hrs
 
-100 cm
 
11:15 hrs
90 cm
 
 
17:31 hrs
 
-95 cm
 
23:36 hrs
106 cm
 
Monday 16 December
6:01 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
11:55 hrs
83 cm
 
 
18:15 hrs
 
-92 cm
Tuesday 17 December
0:16 hrs
107 cm
 
 
6:46 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
12:45 hrs
76 cm
 
 
18:53 hrs
 
-90 cm
Wednesday 18 December
1:06 hrs
106 cm
 
 
7:36 hrs
 
-93 cm
 
13:30 hrs
70 cm
 
 
19:45 hrs
 
-86 cm
Thursday 19 December
1:55 hrs
104 cm
 
 
8:26 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
14:25 hrs
64 cm
 
 
20:40 hrs
 
-82 cm
Friday 20 December
2:55 hrs
102 cm
 
 
9:26 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
15:40 hrs
62 cm
 
 
21:45 hrs
 
-78 cm
Saturday 21 December
4:05 hrs
100 cm
 
 
10:30 hrs
 
-86 cm
 
16:45 hrs
64 cm
 
 
22:56 hrs
 
-78 cm
Sunday 22 December
5:15 hrs
100 cm
 
 
11:41 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
17:55 hrs
70 cm
 
Monday 23 December
0:00 hrs
 
-83 cm
 
6:24 hrs
101 cm
 
 
12:46 hrs
 
-91 cm
 
18:55 hrs
78 cm
 
Tuesday 24 December
1:15 hrs
 
-89 cm
 
7:25 hrs
101 cm
 
 
13:46 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
20:00 hrs
88 cm
 
Wednesday 25 December
2:15 hrs
 
-96 cm
 
8:25 hrs
100 cm
 
 
14:45 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
20:56 hrs
96 cm
 
Thursday 26 December
3:09 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
9:15 hrs
97 cm
 
 
15:31 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
21:40 hrs
103 cm
 
Friday 27 December
3:58 hrs
 
-104 cm
 
10:06 hrs
92 cm
 
 
16:11 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
22:20 hrs
108 cm
 
Saturday 28 December
4:39 hrs
 
-103 cm
 
10:46 hrs
86 cm
 
 
16:49 hrs
 
-98 cm
 
22:55 hrs
110 cm
 
Sunday 29 December
5:16 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
11:05 hrs
80 cm
 
 
17:26 hrs
 
-97 cm
 
23:30 hrs
111 cm
 
Monday 30 December
5:55 hrs
 
-94 cm
 
11:51 hrs
74 cm
 
 
17:56 hrs
 
-96 cm
Tuesday 31 December
0:05 hrs
108 cm
 
 
6:26 hrs
 
-88 cm
 
12:15 hrs
68 cm
 
 
18:26 hrs
 
-93 cm

January 2020

 
 
HW
LW
Wednesday 1 January
0:45 hrs
102 cm
 
 
7:00 hrs
 
-80 cm
 
12:58 hrs
60 cm
 
 
19:00 hrs
 
-88 cm
Thursday 2 January
1:20 hrs
96 cm
 
 
7:30 hrs
 
-74 cm
 
13:31 hrs
57 cm
 
 
19:36 hrs
 
-82 cm
Friday 3 January
2:00 hrs
90 cm
 
 
8:10 hrs
 
-69 cm
 
14:15 hrs
54 cm
 
 
20:16 hrs
 
-77 cm
Saturday 4 January
2:35 hrs
84 cm
 
 
9:01 hrs
 
-65 cm
 
15:05 hrs
53 cm
 
 
21:06 hrs
 
-71 cm
Sunday 5 January
3:40 hrs
80 cm
 
 
9:54 hrs
 
-64 cm
 
16:19 hrs
54 cm
 
 
22:05 hrs
 
-66 cm
Monday 6 January
4:50 hrs
80 cm
 
 
11:15 hrs
 
-68 cm
 
17:33 hrs
61 cm
 
 
23:40 hrs
 
-67 cm
Tuesday 7 January
6:05 hrs
84 cm
 
 
12:14 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
18:40 hrs
73 cm
 
Wednesday 8 January
0:45 hrs
 
-77 cm
 
7:06 hrs
91 cm
 
 
13:14 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
19:35 hrs
85 cm
 
Thursday 9 January
1:46 hrs
 
-87 cm
 
7:55 hrs
96 cm
 
 
14:15 hrs
 
-95 cm
 
20:30 hrs
95 cm
 
Friday 10 January
2:40 hrs
 
-96 cm
 
8:45 hrs
97 cm
 
 
15:07 hrs
 
-99 cm
 
21:16 hrs
102 cm
 
Saturday 11 January
3:36 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
9:45 hrs
95 cm
 
 
15:55 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
22:03 hrs
106 cm
 
Sunday 12 January
4:22 hrs
 
-108 cm
 
10:26 hrs
91 cm
 
 
16:39 hrs
 
-104 cm
 
22:46 hrs
109 cm
 
Monday 13 January
5:11 hrs
 
-111 cm
 
11:04 hrs
86 cm
 
 
17:21 hrs
 
-106 cm
 
23:26 hrs
112 cm
 
Tuesday 14 January
5:53 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
11:56 hrs
81 cm
 
 
18:05 hrs
 
-107 cm
Wednesday 15 January
0:11 hrs
113 cm
 
 
6:37 hrs
 
-113 cm
 
12:41 hrs
76 cm
 
 
18:47 hrs
 
-107 cm
Thursday 16 January
0:55 hrs
112 cm
 
 
7:23 hrs
 
-109 cm
 
13:18 hrs
70 cm
 
 
19:35 hrs
 
-105 cm
Friday 17 January
1:37 hrs
108 cm
 
 
8:10 hrs
 
-102 cm
 
14:15 hrs
65 cm
 
 
20:21 hrs
 
-100 cm

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide (HW) is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide (LW) in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Disclaimer

faqThis tidal information is only intended for recreational purposes, such as hiking and beach recreation. No guarantees are made about the correctness of this free tides data. You may not use this page if anyone or anything could come to harm as a result of using it (e.g. for navigational purposes).

Ebb and flow

Getijden

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Oosterschelde or Waddenzee, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go mudhiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.